A short interview

vbt_tourbanner_theafterwar

 

As part of THE AFTER WAR’S ongoing book tour, here is an interview I recently did for Straight from the Library blog. As you’ll learn, I really do hate dog-eared book pages. Here’s a link to their site, which also has links for a $20 Amazon gift card giveaway. Check it out: Straight from the Library

 

What is the favorite book you remember as a child?

Hatchet was the first book that I read myself and enjoyed. It’s a great book for a young boy, it’s full of action and adventure.

Tell us about your current book in 10 words.

Two years have passed since mankind faced extinction

What are you reading right now?

I’m reading a few. I’m re-reading The Wasp Factory by Iain Banks and Hot Water Music by Charles Bukowski. I’m also reading Swan Song by Robert R. McCammon for the first time.

E-Reader or print? and why?

They both serve a purpose. I like having a physical library in my house, where I can see and flip through my books on a whim. But I also think my e-reader is extremely useful. Having the world’s largest library on my nightstand, or backpack, or luggage during a trip, is amazing. It took me a while to get used to an e-reader, but now that I have, I like them equally.

One book at a time or multiples? Reading or writing?

The answer to both is multiples. However, I’m now going to try to be writing only one book at a time. Flipping back and forth between books, along with working a full time job, gets to be a bit much.

Dog-ear or bookmark? (don’t worry—Librarian Judith won’t hold it against you—much)

Bookmark. Or a scrap of paper, a Post-it, or anything really. Dog-ear is a big pet peeve of mine, seeing someone do it gives my anxiety for some reason.

Favorite book you’ve read this year?

The March by E.L. Doctorow

When do you do most of your reading?

Before bed. I used to be a big morning reader, and would like to one day get back into the habit, but ever since my daughter was born (about three years ago) I no longer have mornings free.

Do you loan your books?

Yes, all of the time. There a few that don’t leave the shelf, but if I think a friend would really like a book and I’m nervous of losing one of my more prized paperbacks, chances are I’ll buy them a copy.

Favorite book to recommend?

That depends on the person. The book that I’ve recommended the most is The Wasp Factory by Iain Banks. Now, I wouldn’t recommend it for everyone, it’s a very disturbing book. But when I find the right person, I typically buy them a used copy from Amazon. I think I’ve given away about ten copies of that book.

Leave a Reply

